An Iranian paper and mag in Kuwait

Current Mood - Curious

So I am walking—actually running coz I was a little itsy bitsy late for class—down Salmiya when I look down.

I used to do that a lot as a kid, looking down. My dad always asked me if I was looking for treasure or something. I remember that even my first driving instructor told me that a good driver should always look far ahead down the road just like walking. I asked her what she means ‘just like walking’. She said you know, when people walk, they look straight ahead, do the same thing when driving instead of staring at the car in front of you. So I go, “I don’t”. She goes, “Huh? Where do you look then?” “Down. Someone once told me that God made the world round so we would never be able to see too far down the road. So I always look down. Get better surprises this way.” Goofy

Anyway, back to the story. So I am in Salmiya looking down, when I see this:
Spaz

It’s a copy of Hamshahri (a widely read Iranian newspaper). Here in Kuwait!!!! Hallelujah. It’s a sign, it’s a sign. It’s a sign that the Iranian community might finally be growing…hold on, maybe starting… here in Kuwait. Could I be dreaming?
So I come rushing home screaming, “Extra, extra, read all about it.” My news comes pouring out, then my brother drops the bomb shell.

“You can buy a copy of Khanevadeh Sabz (Green Family) at Sultan Center.”

“NO WAY”

Smack, he drops a copy in front of me:

Holy macaroni, ONE KD. That magazine is 400 toman in Iran. That’s like 125 fils. Woooooooohhhhh that’s 8 times the price in Iran. I am so gonna give up my day time job and get into the business of importing “The Green Family” Money

I wonder what’s next? Iranian Concerts? Drummer

6 thoughts on “An Iranian paper and mag in Kuwait

  1. Res di, fiaisceu benira que wil, kangeneiro questa!!! In porema va zentra! Jamenzas, de, yortatantr escuti bell haiuttirev se auttoria zamend!

  2. Congrats on your discovery. 😛

    Do I hear Iranian concerts?
    Goooooogoooooosshhhhh!!! YAY!!! xD

  3. didn’t know about the iranian newspaper and magazine, i’m glad they are opening up to new cultures ..

  4. elijah: Same price?

    barbara: Wish I coud come up with a whole new lanaguage 🙂 I have problems learning the ones that have existed for 1000s of years 😀

    criticizer: *fingers crossed*

    FT: I’m searching for a Swedish-English translation site to get your blog transalted into English. Know any?

    Chiqa Bonita: Actually I think q8 is very open-minded to new cultures. I have yet to meet a Kuwaiti that doesn’t know the phrases ‘chetoree’ and ‘khodafez’. It’s just that the Iranian community here is rather small and inactive compared to Dubai.

Leave a Reply

