Happy Norouz 1386: My Personal 7 seens

From one New Year to another.

I was just looking at my New Year’s Resolution for 2007 and I am proud to say that I have kept almost all of them. In fact I was so proud of myself, I went out and got myself an iPod as an appreciation gift.

Here are my personal 7 seens for Norouz 1386:

  1. S: Stop jumping to conclusions.
  2. S: Seek the explanation of things that bugs you
  3. S: Spread even more positive energy
  4. S: Speak up my mind without loosing my temper
  5. S: Sort out the inner conflict I’ve been having with my other personality
  6. S: Slap myself when I feel I am drifting into lala land again
  7. S: Stabilize my mood swings

In short, I gotta shapen up..oops that’s not a س

UPDATE: In case you are not familiar with Norouz and the original Haft seen, here’s the explanation from Wikipedia:

Haft Sîn (Persian: هفت سین‎ ) or the seven ‘S’s is a major tradition of Norouz. The haft sin table includes seven items specific starting with the letter S or Sîn (س in the Persian alphabet). The items symbolically correspond to seven creations and holy immortals protecting them. Originally called Haft Chin (هفت چین), the Haft Sin has evolved over time, but has kept its symbolism. Traditionally, families attempt to set as beautiful a Haft Sîn table as they can, as it is not only of traditional and spiritual value, but also noticed by visitors during Norouzi visitations and is a reflection of their good taste.

The Haft Sin items are:

  • sabzehwheat, barley or lentil sprouts growing in a dish – symbolizing rebirth
  • samanu – a sweet pudding made from wheat germ – symbolizing affluence
  • senjed – the dried fruit of the oleaster tree – symbolizing love
  • sîrgarlic – symbolizing medicine
  • sîbapples – symbolizing beauty and health
  • somaqsumac berries – symbolizing (the color of) sunrise
  • serkehvinegar – symbolizing age and patience

While traditionally incorrect, sometimes a missing Sin is exchanged with another item starting with an S. For example:

  • sonbol – the fragrant hyacinth flower (the coming of spring)
  • sekkehcoins (prosperity and wealth)

Other items on the table may include:

  • traditional Iranian pastries such as baghlava, toot, naan-nokhodchi
  • dried nuts, berries and raisins (Aajeel)
  • lit candles (enlightenment and happiness)
  • a mirror
  • decorated eggs, sometimes one for each member of the family (fertility)
  • a bowl with goldfish (life, and the sign of Pisces which the sun is leaving)
  • a bowl of water with an orange in it (the earth floating in space)
  • rose water for its magical cleansing powers
  • the national colours, for a patriotic touch
  • a holy book (e.g., the Qur’an, Avesta, Kitáb-i-Aqdas, Bible, or Torah) and/or a poetry book (almost always either the Shahnama or the Divan of Hafez)
10 thoughts on “Happy Norouz 1386: My Personal 7 seens

  1. hi, Happy Norooz to you, thanks for your comment…by the way I loved your resolutions, gotta make some for me 2.lol

  2. Wait and see if I can keep mine 😉 Making resolutions is a lot easier than keeping them.

  3. Happy Norouz to you too.

    keeping the resolutions is such a hard job. I can go with short-term goals but on the longer ones, I usually fail.

  4. maria: I only make resolutions I have been working on for some time. I kept most of my 2007 ones coz i was going through a transformation journey and these helped me get over the bridge.

    During this trip I cam to realize that I had some negative traits which is causing some unhappiness. My personal 7 seens are to help me control this part of my nature.

  5. Happy Norooz, and thank you for all the good information. Wish you all success in keeping your resolutions.

  6. Pingback: Goodbye 1386 « Magical Droplets

  7. Pingback: Goodbye 1386 « Darya

  8. Hi Darya,

    I almost 100% identify with your 7 Ss. In fact I’ve modified them slightly for myself 🙂 The top S for me though has always been:

    S1: Scrutinize the reasons for my native beliefs and habits.

    Happy forthcoming Norouz and all the best for the New Year!
    PJ

  9. pj: Happy nowrooz to u too dearest 🙂

    aah yes, scrutinizing the reason for our beliefs is the root of all changes

    wishing a year full of easy scrutinizing ;p ;p

Leave a Reply

