Oh, what fools these mortals are!!

Oh boy, what have I got myself trapped into. It’s a vicious cycle.

Flashback to 5 months ago:

Weekdays: Get out of bed around 7 am. Be at work around 7:45. Get back home around 10:00 pm. (Had a 2 hour lunch break in between)

Weekends: Nag about my social life—or the lack of it

Flashback to 4 months ago:

I see the signs, I hear the rumors. It’s gonna end. My department is gonna close down soon.

Finally I can get my social life back to order.

Soon my working hours were cut back to a humanitarian level of 8!!

Me, happy and bouncy. I finally got around to seeing Kuwait during the day time on a weekday.

Flashback to 3 months ago:

Gradually my working hours is reduced to zero. Yep, for more than 1 month I had no classes, no projects, no presentations, and no proposals to write. As my workload was reduced, my depression grew.

Oh, idle, idle mind.

An idle mind is a dangerous thing.

I felt unwanted, useless, and unchallenged.

With a lot of time on my hands, I started to over analysis everything, pick on people, be more sensitive than usual. But one thing I was not, was moody. I only had 1 mood I wanted to be left alone.

And so I resigned. Without even searching for a new job first, let alone finding one. I didn’t care. I just had to get out of that environment.

Present day

I started my new job 3 weeks ago. I work here 8 hours a day, but I still go to my old company to finish off some classes in the evening for 3 hours. So I now work 11 hours a day again.

And I am happy.

And I laugh again

I miss my own laughter.

So if I work a lot, I nag; if I don’t, I become depressed. Am I fool? Maybe, but a happy fool 😀

PS. I am posting this in the middle of the day coz I finished a presentation a week before my deadline. And it’s too hot to go out so I thought I would blog away….

11 thoughts on “Oh, what fools these mortals are!!

  1. Yep ! Life can be a nag sometimes, I’m happy for you , !11 hours a day is good !

  2. Hmmm…
    & I thought I was the only one!!!!
    One of my close friends used to say that she did best when she had a lot to do & I used to laugh at her not realizing that I was the same. I mean I always had ‘a lot’ to do… studies, my langugue classes, painting, ethics,… normally I did not have any time left unplanned & I always thought it would be cool to just have some idle time….
    Then came the idle time, I was done with school, I had to take some time off due to my heart condition & I was not happy. I felt like crab!
    Now, I work 8am to 6pm most days, have classes or social obligations till 10 pm, go back home to do a bit of research study & sleep. & I feel alive!
    I guess we have a soft spot to be ‘workoholics’! 😀

  3. Congrats for the new Job (although a tad late) 🙂
    there is nothing wrong with having nothing to do. just relax and enjoy Ur idling status, no one can afford being idle these days.
    and 11 hours of work? hmm.. this is too much for my taste isara7a 😛

  4. hahahaha I was once a “workaholic.”

    Those days are gone 😦 sadly…

    I’m the world’s most slacking slacker.. 😛

  5. I hope u stay depression free! ,,So I suggest u stay busy 😛 ..Good luck with the new job 🙂

  6. Don’t despair. You’re not alone. I think it happens to all of us one way or another.

    Hope everything is great with you out there!

  7. yes, i guess it’s the same with everyone, but only partly. i don’t exactly nag when i’m at work, but still, i can get pretty irratable. ah well, c’est vie!

  8. happy wolf: that’s 11 hours of standing on your feet teaching!!!!

    proshat: Hey the important thing is that you enjoy yourself. now i beginning to balance out my life

    bottled: I’m planning to resign again 😀

    cixousianpanic: I think I’ve forgotten HOW to enjoy myself

    solar alchemist: i wonder how many different kinds of fools are there? hmmm

    pinkjawbreaker: thanks

    Frieda: i’m good thanks dearest for asking 😀 I needed to take some time off to detach myself from certain object. Just needed to prove to myself that i’m not obsessed with them.

    Ana Filibini: yeah i was burnout for a while. but i think now i’m ok

    mariamusic: thanks hun

    CLEZEVRA VERDEZEL: i would die if i don’t nag 😀

Leave a Reply

