Brains learn better at night

Aha!!!. I knew it. As soon as I rant about it I come across this article. I wasn’t even searching; proof just landed in my lap 😀 Hmmmm, maybe it is a sign that I should sue Mr. Daylight working hours. (Hehehe, these days I am getting on people’s nerves coz everything for me seems to be a sign. :D)

Anway, here’s an excerpt from the article that I’m gonna use in my case:

If you think that the idea of a morning person or an evening person is nonsense, then postgraduate student Martin Sale and his colleagues from the University of Adelaide have news for you. They have found that the time of day influences your brain’s ability to learn – and the human brain learns more effectively in the evening.

“Such time-of-day variations in function are not unusual. Organisms are adapted to the continual change in light and dark during a 24 hour period to avoid predators and to reproduce faster,” he says.

“For example, the petals of many flowers only open during the day, while some organisms only reproduce at night. In humans, these rhythms are governed by a variety of hormones that control many bodily functions.”

10 thoughts on “Brains learn better at night

  1. I know this about myself since highschool. I’ve always been the night girl. My hormones peak at night.

  2. This is right, when I was student i always study my lesson during evening time because i felt that my brain was more active than daytime.

  3. hmmm there must be something wrong with me, because I was always so sleepy at night and for the life of me could not stay up late to study.

  4. Interesting,

    This might explains why I have clearer thoughts in the evening and why I’m haunted with thousands of memories, ideas and events while I go to sleep.

    Sometimes my mind goes into vicious cycle of self brainstorming, things that I know that in the morning will vanish and feels so original as they invade my peaceful head on the pillow.

  5. Touche: I’m haunted by those memories 24/7. The more one tries to escape certain thoughts the more diffivult it is be break free from them :X

  6. Magical… you have my support on that!!!! yes we should change working hours!! God.. i’m so serious who should we talk to to make this happen!??!

  7. canc3rian: great 😀 Now all we have to do is…..find out who we should complain to. Hmmmmmmm?

Leave a Reply

