Dear Mom,

Dear mom,

I’m proud, I’m so proud of you. Proud of how strong you have been in the past 5 months. Proud of how you witnessed your hair fall out strand by strand and merely cracked a joke about it. Proud of how you watched your body deteriorate day by day but still pretended you were strong. Proud of how you kept a lively spirit even though your internal organs were eating you alive. Proud of how you got through these months of chemotherapy with such grace.

Mom, I’m proud. Proud of how your smile never left your face as they rolled you into the OR even though you knew when you open your eyes next one of your breasts would be missing. Proud of how slowly yet surely you forced yourself to look at the empty space. It took 44 hours but eventually you lowered your eyes to examine your new self, your new chest—the one with only one breast.

Tell me mom, how does a woman say goodbye to a part of her body; how did you accept the parting?

Yours,

Magical

PS. So glad to have you back home tomorrow.

PPS. I’ll make ‘Tah Cheen’ :)..Yeap..me cook

17 thoughts on “Dear Mom,

  1. This is one of the most inspiring letter that I ever read, I wish your mom a very good health soon. May the Almighty blessed you both 🙂

  2. Oh sweetie, that is so moving, and your Mom is so lucky to have you at her side. What a beautiful, courageous woman she must be, and what an example she sets for all of us.

    *Hugs to you and Umm Magical!*

  3. I’m proud of you my lady… In my opinion it is easier to fight with my own pain than my beloveds.
    Blessings to you.

  4. rieaane: thanks honey

    blue dress: keeping her happy, keeps me happy 😀

    intlxpatr: she really is courageous and strong, so very very strong.

    LOL @ um magical

    grey: thanks sweetie. Thanks for the prayer.

    proshat: True, so true. My mom is the strongest person i have ever seen. Watching her become weaker and weaker day by day was probably one of the hardest thing i have ever done. Mer30 azizaam

  5. your letter made me cry …
    we all share the proud of your mum … and all the moms n the world who had to be strong .. and won … or lost their battle with cancer ….
    you all won … n our hearts …

    best wishes
    NAda

  6. I hope and pray that all works out with for your mom. I believe your friends and families are all optimistic and believe she belongs in the good statistics….

    God bless to you and your mom.

  7. cece: Thanks hun

    nada: My prayers goes out to every single cancer fighters.

    drama diva: thank God

  8. Your letter has made me cry. It touched me in so many ways. It has inspired me to tell my mother how I feel towards her..

    Thank you.. seriously. *hugs*

    Your mother must be very proud of you, well, I don’t blame her. ❤

  9. Magical… I never met your mom but from I read I feel like I know her very well and I’m so proud of her too. Mashalla… and I’m also proud of you so much for being there and for caring and having a heart with all what a heart could be. Seldomn do we find people like you these days.

    Keeep it up. Hugs to you and your mom.

  10. canc3rian: Thanks hun 😀

    ammaro: yeah, it does. But i sometimes wished she didn’t have to tough it out alone.

  11. God bless your mom with her battles. I think He already blessed her with a wonderful daughter. Both of you are lucky to have each other. Rock on! 🙂

  12. frieda and ana filibini: Thanks. Hey missed you guys.

    All: mom is doing great so far. Her hair, eyelashes and eyebrows are starting to grow back. Thank you all for your prayers 😀

Leave a Reply

