“The Lost One” by Googoosh


I translated this song by Googoosh a few months ago when I badly wanted to return to ‘those’ days of innocence. I didn’t return, but I did connect. The connection led me to see the image in the mirror. It’s still vague, the mirror still needs polishing, but I’m beginning to make out the face staring back at me.

“The Lost One” by Googoosh

[Ghomshodeh]


Since the days that our hearts were a lot more intimate

The days the songs of my neighbors were filled with compassion and sincerity


Since the days that Rostam* was still a Rostam for me

The days the hands of that lost one could fit into mine


Since the days, one could count the stars at night

The days one knew the names of the flowers by heart


Ever since those days, I haven’t stopped searching

For the one who got lost in those days


Since the days our pictures weren’t covered in dust

The days the canaries in our yard weren’t thinking of escape


Since the days of innocence

Those good days of playfulness

Those days of pure blue love

The days of needing nothing



Ever since those days, I haven’t stopped searching

For the one who got lost in those days


I have been counting every single moment in waiting;

It’s only for that one single moment that I’m still alive today.


For that moment that my search would be over

The moment I would find my lost one in the mirror in front of me


Ever since those days, I haven’t stopped searching

For the one who got lost in those days

*Rostam is a mythical Persian hero/general

Listen/Download song from here

9 thoughts on ““The Lost One” by Googoosh

  1. eshda3wa: yeah, i’m like that with a lot of songs

    rieaane: thanks sweatie 😀

    ling-ling: shokraan 😀

    canc3rian: any song that one can relate to is a gudy song ;p

  2. I don’t listen to a lot of irani songs, but this one is unbelievably bitter sweet and incredibly beautiful:)

  3. I never heard the song or any iranian song , wait.. lemme check in IMEEM… a very long list, dunno which one is this song in particular…

    I have been counting every single moment in waiting;
    It’s only for that one single moment that I’m still alive today.
    For that moment that my search would be over
    The moment I would find my lost one in the mirror in front of me

    a pretty deep meaning. beautiful..

  4. moon-light: yeah i have an arguement going on with a friend that the song is talking about returning to her childhood innocence. she says it’s a love song!!!

    frieda: there are a couple of her songs that really speak to the soul. I also like Haydeh, ebi and Dariush (old songs…none of their new ones: songs aren’t what they used to be anymore 😦

Leave a Reply

