Dokhtar Shirazi

Dear Mom,

Well, as my first post of us just ‘hanging’ out, look what I stumbled on:

.
.

You used to sing this song all the time 🙂 🙂 …It’s “Dokhtar Shirazi” by Zia and Nasrin. I remember the first time you sang it, you used to stop and say, here the guy says, and then you would sing it; then you would stop and say, here the girl replies, and you would sing it 🙂 You were so cute 🙂

Click HERE to download the song

UPDATE

A reader requested the translation of the song. As you can see this song is an old flirtation Iranian folklore in the streets of a bazaar. Basically she was wearing a chador and he wanted to see stuff!!

Man: Shirazi girl, my dearest Shirazi girl. Reveal your hair to me so I would be content.
Woman: What do you want with my hair you ill-mannered boy? Haven’t you seen a noose in the bazaar? It;s just like that only much more expensive

Man: Shirazi dear, dearest shirazi girl. I ache for you lips till I see you again

Man: Shirazi girl, my dearest Shirazi girl. Reveal your eyebrows to me so I would be content.
Woman: What do you want with my eyebrows you ill-mannered boy? Haven’t you seen a bow in the bazaar? It’s just like that only much more expensive.

Man: [Now he wants to see her eyes]
Woman: [Again she tells him off, and says her eyes are like the almonds in the bazaar]

Man: [Now it’s the lips!!]
Woman [It’s like the Olives!! (I’ve no idea why she compares her lips to olives!!)

Leave a Reply

