Who was it?

There is an Iranian nursery rhyme that roughly translates as so:

Who was it, who was it?

It wasn’t me, it was my hand

It was the fault of my sleeve

The sleeve belongs to my coat

The coat belongs to my dad

I love reading up on the source and stories behind nursery rhymes…and when I don’ t find one, I use my sherlockum deductive reasoning to derive at one (aka, I make up the story).

Here’s how I think this nursery rhyme originated:  Long long ago when the first president was sworn in, his mommy knew he would screw up soon. So she thought, hmm? Let’s see? Who can we blame all his future screws ups on? Long story short, she added the ‘Who was it? clause to his swearing in oath. To this day, this is how presidents around the world are sworn in-true story!

PS. The nursery rhyme does rhyme in Farsi

PPS. I totally made up the word ‘sherlockum’

PPPS. This has nothing to do with Bashar Asad’s interview today with Barabara Walters ;p

Leave a Reply

